Tarantula Tuesday (Long Overdue): Brazilian Dwarf Blue Beauty

I have been remiss in giving you all the 8-legged goodness you want, so this week I’m going to feature a species that just recently came over to the United States and was actually only classified in 2009. This amazing species is known as the Brazilian dwarf blue beauty, Oligoxystre diamantinensis.

Image

It’s like an angry rainbow… (Image credit goes to Oligoxystre on Arachnoboards)

This colorful dwarf species is easy to care for, with humidity requirements above 50% and temperatures in the 70’s F being enough to keep it happy. This simple care is offset though by their attitude and the hefty price tag. Slings (spiderlings) less than 1 inch (2.5 cm) have been going for upwards of $100 very easily. Hopefully the prices will drop as they become more common due to breeding efforts by dedicated individuals. Despite not growing much larger than 4 inches (10 cm), these spiders are vicious predators, being able to take down prey as large as they are.

Being so new to the U.S., there isn’t too much information on them yet, but the simple care means that this is another easy tarantula to keep and care for.

I know this one is on my wish list!

About tjhedlund

I'm anentomologist that is big into insects and arachnids (though I do have my order/family/genus/species biases...). I love keeping live arthropods and I'm always looking to add interesting things to my insect and spider collections.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. An 8-legged Update | Insects and Arachnids - 29 March 2014

Leave a comment