Tarantula Tuesday: The Mexican Golden Red Rump

This week we will keep with the Brachypelma them and talk about the Mexican golden red rump (Brachypelma albiceps).

Image

My big female golden red rump, Viremia.

B. albiceps are kept just like last week’s tarantula, the Mexican red knee (B. smithi). Humidity should be kept low, a water dish and hide should be provided, and feed once every couple weeks.

My female is very docile and a good eater. She is very active when brought out for handling and does not get startled easily. For an experiment of sorts, I’ve placed a ping pong ball in her enclosure and have seen her rolling it around from time to time. I’m not sure if she thinks it is an egg sac, or just enjoys reorganizing her enclosure by moving the ball around. Either way, it has proved entertaining.

If you get a chance, I fully recommend getting this tarantula. They aren’t easy to come by in the U.S., but other arachnophiles have begun breeding them. I will help with breeding as well, once I come by a male at a good price. Hopefully their numbers will be higher in the future, which will drop the price.

A full caresheet can be found here:

http://www.mikebasictarantula.com/B-albicep-care-sheet.html

References:

Schultz, Stanley A., and Marguerite J. Schultz. The Tarantula Keeper’s Guide. Hauppauge, NY: Barron’s Educational Series, 1998. Print.

Tags: ,

About tjhedlund

I'm anentomologist that is big into insects and arachnids (though I do have my order/family/genus/species biases...). I love keeping live arthropods and I'm always looking to add interesting things to my insect and spider collections.

Leave a comment